KRA Commissioner General elected as member of ATAF executive arm

The KRA Commissioner General, Githii Mburu, has been nominated as a Member of the Governing Council of the Africa Tax Administration Forum (ATAF). He was voted during the ATAF General Assembly meeting held today, 4th November, 2020.

Mr. Mburu who represent Kenya at the ATAF was elected by 13 member states, accounting for the highest number of votes cast during the electoral session. His election reiterates KRA’s global reputation and endorsement in tax administration matters. 

The Governing Council is the organ responsible for guiding ATAF in achieving its vision, mission and objectives for African tax administrations. This means that the Commissioner General will now be part of the executive arm that guides formulation and implementation of key tax programmes on behalf of ATAF members. 

KRA joined ATAF in October, 2009 and currently holds membership in all the Governing Committees namely VAT Technical Committee (Chairing), Exchange of Information Technical Committee, Cross Border Taxation (CBT) Technical Committee, and Informal Sector Taxation Technical Committee. 

KRA also has deeper cooperation with ATAF through provision of specialized capacity building programmes in taxation at the Authority’s Kenya School of Revenue Administration (KESRA). Through ATAF KRA is also able to second its technical staff to support other African tax agencies on a variety of technical matters.  ATAF hosts special international events, and support KRA with tax research and publications. 

Other Countries elected to the council include; Togo (Chair), South Africa, Uganda, and Zambia. The Governing Council membership mandate will run for 2 years. Previous council members included Nigeria, Mauritius, Swaziland, Uganda, South Africa and Angola.  

ATAF is an international organization that provides a platform for African tax administrations to work together.

Deputy Commissioner Marketing and Communication

PRESS RELEASE 04/11/2020

Did you find this content useful?

Average Rating

Based on 6 ratings
KRA Commissioner General elected as member of ATAF executive arm